Frugality fun!

I have some fun “make it yourself and save” mixes for you to try out.

In honor of the Lentil recipe I posted previously (have you tried it yet?) I have a french onion soup mix recipe.

3/4 cups instant minced onion

1/3 cup beef bullion powder

4 teaspoons onion powder

1/4 teaspoon crushed celery seed

1/4 teaspoon sugar.

Mix it all up together and store in an airtight container. I use a mason jar. 5 tablespoons equal on of the packets.

I am super thrilled to be making my own dishwasher detergent. The ingredients are very cheap so it saves me a ton over buying commercial. Also it is much more earth friendly.

-1 cup washing soda
-1 cup borax
-1/2 cup citric acid

-1/2 cup kosher salt

Mix it all together.

Add vinegar to the rinse aide compartment and a couple of tablespoons powder to the detergent cup. Viola

We have been on a hot cocoa kick in the evenings. Michael claims it is relaxing but I know he just likes to eat the marshmallows.

1 1/2 cups white sugar

1 cup powdered french vanilla non-dairy creamer

1 cup dry milk powder

1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

Mix together and store in an air tight container. 3 heaping spoons full in a mug and you are good to go. I have seen a couple of recipes that call for a package of instant chocolate pudding but I didn’t have any on hand. I will try that next time.

I find all my spices and ingredients at the Amish bulk food store which is kind of out in the country but the prices and selection is amazing so it is worth the trip. If you haven’t located the bulk food store or an amish market you should certainly do that.

One thought on “Frugality fun!

Leave a Reply

