More words from Michael

New year Purposes?

What would I want in a new year? Do I want it to be different than the last year? Last year was honestly wonderful, adventurous, filled with highs and lows, and a time of wonderful growth. If I were to desire something in the coming year, it would simply be a greater ability to yield to the Spirit of God.

Now, to some, it might seem like that means a person gives up themselves and their desires. Perhaps in a way it does. I prefer to see it as allowing God to manifest greater wonders through me. I wish to yield to His greater insight, His greater power, His greater qualities.

Some of the things that God may do with a person seem more “flashy” than others. However, the ability to love in greater degrees or have a greater compassion is just as deep and profound–not to mention useful. As a person stays more focused in the “now,” they become more able to be used by the Lord in greater ways. So I want to focus on the “now,” and not yield to things like self-pity, selfish wants, materialism, or even unhealthy grief.

As a person focuses on the present, they are also much more likely to “catch God’s cues,” giving them the abiltiy to see God’s purposes and how we might play a part in them–regardless of how small or how large our role is. “Chance encounters” suddenly become doorways to moments of beauty and power. Finding our role in any given moment is like a planet finding its orbit. We are given greater “order” and “security.” And we see ourselves more as part of a vast system–all planned in the mind of an almighty God.

Yes, I wish to come into His chosen “orbit” for my life.

I close with a favorite verse: Hosea 14:8

“O Israel, stay away from idols. I am the one who answers your prayers and cares for you. I am like a tree that is always green. All your fruit comes from me.”

I could just as easily put it this way: Attention God’s people! Stay away from distractions. See God as the one who makes everything possible for you as you seek Him in the most powerful avenue of prayer. Realize that He is always the same when we approach Him. (In Him is ‘yes’). This is the key to our “bearing fruit.”

One thought on “More words from Michael

  1. Oh Micheal and Michael and Crys and Reagan, I am so sad for your loss. But thank you for sharing this precious time. You truly ministered to your daddy and I am so grateful to have been able to read this. I will be praying for you as you grieve, and move to your new place.
    In His Grace,
    Sivje

Leave a Reply

