Summer Saturdays in Wisconsin

Totally rock!

Today my sweet Michael and I got up and went to breakfast at our favorite little spot. It’s called the Wooden Chair and boy it certainly has charm to spare!

The we headed down the side walk to the farmers market to pick up our produce for the week. I know I have blogged before about the virtues of growing your own food or sourcing it locally but really I can’t stress the benefits enough. It is far better for the environment, the local economy and for you plus there is just something so amazing about produce that had the chance to ripen in the field where it grew until the perfect time instead of on a cross country semi where it was picked weeks too early. It tastes better and has more nutrients. I also love the look of pride in the growers faces when they talk to you about what they have to offer this week and what will be ready next week. These people are my neighbors and I love supporting them with my money…and the tomatoes are unbelievable!

I always show up at the market with my own reusable bag, cash (lots of singles) and an open mind. I try to plan my menu around what is available now as opposed to going with a list and perhaps not finding everything.

100_0516-1.jpg picture by Cre8tiveCrys

Today we got lettuce, carrots, tomatoes, cucumbers, zucchini, green beans, basil, dill and a melon.

We actually grow a lot of this ourselves but due to our short growing season and our lack of a green house our harvest is not yet ready. The farmers at the market have awesome green houses to extend the growing season with…I love driving by the farms checking them out.

100_0513.jpg picture by Cre8tiveCrys

On this week’s menu we have bruscetta (that basil is making my whole kitchen smell divine) Stuffed zucchini boats, a colorful salad to accompany the smoked gouda and artichoke heart risotto I want to make and a jump-start on my yearly pickle making.

100_0520.jpg picture by Cre8tiveCrys

Even Sami approves!

Now I am hungry!

Leave a Reply

