It’s a beautiful day in my neighborhood

I figured it was time for an update lest you think I have crawled under a rock and disappeared or worse….retreated to my bedroom with all 7 Harry Potter books which is exactly what I do when depressed/overwhelmed. It is my “head in the sand” activity. You know that thing you do when you can not bear to actually face reality. But that is not the case now, I just have been very busy…honest….I have proof…..

 

The revival was a blessing and I am sort of sad it is over but also glad since it was extremely exhausting. We knocked on over 1,000 doors in our community, prayed with/for a lot of our neighbors, offered food and encouragement and washed a lot of dishes…. Actually Michele and I was a lot of dishes. Note to self, Elders must provide dishwasher next time we have something of this magnitude. Seriously.

 

The ten days of the revival following this schedule more or less for me.

 

6 am: wake up throw on clothes (think to self I should really take a shower but don’t have time) and go next door to make breakfast

 

8am to 10 am: Serve breakfast, have devo, prayers, campaign updates and start cleaning up from breakfast.

 

10 am to 12pm: Finish cleaning up after breakfast and start lunch. Most day Michele and I would take turns either running campaign errands or going door knocking since we were short missing several women who were supposed to show up on local volunteers and women. (I will not actually discuss this issue as I am attempting to rise above it and be more Christ-Centered)

 

12pm: Serve Lunch

 

1pm-4:30pm: Clean up from lunch and start dinner. Also due to lack of women, Michele and I would often take turns going door knocking which left the other person often time solo for preparing dinner for a lot of people. Sometimes we had help though and that was great! Margaret came in the afternoons when she could which was a big help and Laura came for a few morning sessions. Mona stopped by on Tuesday and Thursday. We appreciate the help.

 

5pm: Dinner

 

6pm-7pm: Dinner clean up

 

7pm: Revival Service

 

8:30-9:30 ish: Fellowship and game playing. We had a great time with the Farming game and Dominos.

 

I also managed some extra credit activities during my down time (funny right)

 

Such as this skirt for Miss Becca. Becca is very tall and very skinny for her age so finding things are a good fit can be a challenge. Especially since she went and developed some hips a couple months ago. She also wants all her skirts and dresses to be very long. The clothing that is marketed to this age group is often too shy of modest so I am glad she likes me to make her things.

 p1010314.jpg picture by Cre8tiveCrys 

 

She looks like she is miserable here but in reality I snapped the picture while she was telling Oliver not to do something. Such a little mother already.

 p1010316.jpg picture by Cre8tiveCrys

This is the first time I self drafted a skirt (No pattern, just made it up) and my first yoga-waist band. There are many lessons to be learned but I am pleased with the first draft.

 p1010317-1.jpg picture by Cre8tiveCrys

 

And since I am playing stash game I needed to get my notion points in there…also she wanted it longer. I know the picture is kind of blurry (still using my sister’s camera) but can you see the fun lime green rick rack? I love it

 We also had Max stay the night. He was such a sweet boy although I suspect he was trying to move in permanently. I think the fact that he gave a guest a tour of “his new room” was the first clue….We enjoyed having him stay though.

 p1010320.jpg picture by Cre8tiveCrys 

 

We let him take a bubble bath with Sami the Parrot and the he slept with Piper the Parakeet. Then it was time to read a story. He loves Winnie the Pooh (Max is also a fan)

 p1010322.jpg picture by Cre8tiveCrys 

Then we said our bedtime prayers.

 

p1010325.jpg picture by Cre8tiveCrys 

And a very happy and sweet little boy!

p1010326.jpg picture by Cre8tiveCrys 

 

See I haven’t just been wasting all my time playing Farm Town on facebook! Just most of it…..

Leave a Reply

