A New Dress for Emma

This pattern is by Sandi Henderson. I made it in size 2T for a sweet little gal at my church.

This was a new pattern for me and it did push me out of my comfort zone. But after the success of the “Wendy” dress I felt pretty confident. For some reason I don’t want to make a mock up out of fabric I don’t really like since it sort of feels like a waste for my limited sewing time but usually I chicken out when it comes to cutting into things I love if I have less then say six yards of it. I know, very strange, but I am making an effort to create more things out of the fabrics I love and there isn’t a shortage of them around my house.

Anyways on to the dress. I used mostly Amy Butler fabrics with a little Ginger Blossom thrown in for good measure. These are also my first button holes. The dress isn’t perfect but I feel like I learned a lot.
And there are certainly some things I will do differently next time. I will say that this skirt is crazy full and it was a bit of a challenge to gather it all into the ity bity little bodice.

p1010107.jpg picture by Cre8tiveCrys

 

p1010106.jpg picture by Cre8tiveCrys

 

This was a collaborative effort for Margaret and I. I picked out the fabrics from my stash. We both picked the pattern from my magic patter box. Margaret traced the pattern and cut out the fabric and I sewed it up. I hope to add a modelling shot of Miss Emma wearing it when we give it to her tonight at church

4 thoughts on “A New Dress for Emma

  1. I really love the dresses! Great job! The style and patterns on each certainly say “summertime”. I’m sure both girls will love their new dresses!

  2. Dress pattern came from a coop but is by Sandi Henderson. Her company is called Portabello Pixie

  3. Hi !
    The dress looks amazing! love the color combination and the pattern itself. I wish i knew how to sew…
    your blog is very nice. If you would like to make a private swap with me – please let me know.
    All the best!!
    Orly Polinger

Leave a Reply

