What I did on my Stay-cation…Chapter 1

For those who did not know I took a week off to stay home and chill….and apparently redecorate. The urge to put plastic grocery bags on the heads of my coworkers was getting too strong.

A great deal was accomplished….and more still needs to be finished. And since I know that all you in blog land are so visual I borrowed a digital camera from my sister so I can show you what I did.

First off….guess what I finished?!?

p1010001

My sister’s Christmas quilt. Good thing we haven’t had a chance to exchange gifts yet. She was this close to getting a stack of fat quarters and an I.O.U.

p1010003

Michael is modeling the new quilt.

I also decided I was so sick of looking at the clutter and I tackled it head on. First victim was my living room.

Pete finally came and put the trim up around our new front door. I use the term new very loosely since he installed the door a year and a half ago.

That seem to inspire Micahel to get his paint on. Well that and I bought him an electric sander for around the house. Here is how that went down.

I said “Maybe now you can retouch the living room paint and we can finally be done with this room”

Michael: ” I think I am going to repaint the whole orange wall”

Me: “ok, whatever, let’s go to Lowe’s”

: “No, let’s go to Franks, they are nicer, more helpful and aren’t we still trying to always support local business?”

Me: “yes, but we got the paint that is currently on the wall at Lowe’s”

Michael: ” Let’s go to Franks anyway, I’m sure they can match it.”

Me: “Well, I guess, I should call first.”

Michael: “Why? Let’s go, I started the van”

I did call while he was in the bathroom just to make sure they at least carry the same brand.

So off to Frank’s Hardware we go. As we alk in everyone is greeting Michael like they know him which I found a bit odd but I went with it. They are super friendly and helpful at Frank’s. So we are walking around and I said “hey, let’s ask where the paint is” to which Michael responded “Oh, its up front, but I want this guy to help us since he is the nicest” Said guy greeted Michael by his name….which wouldn’t be that strange since we live in a small town and we live directly behind Frank’s except I have the world’s most unhandy husband. Apparently he likes to go visit with the guys at the hardware store and he is picking up some skills.

So while I waited for the paint fellow Richard to mix our paint Michael wandered around and said he needed to pick up a “few” things. It was taking Richard forever to mix the paint b/c he was unable to get the right shade so Michael said he wanted to pick a different color since he was painting the whole wall anyway. I said I wanted the wall to still be orange and he said ok. I should have been more concerned since Michael has never shown any interest or ever cared how I decorate the house. Apparently he cares now….

The first color he chose was called Jack o Lantern which I promptly vetoed. I love orange more then most people however that was a bit more then I could endure. The color we got was called Arizona Sunset but it should have been called Blaze Orange

p1010006

 

Vetoing it was not an option since Michael informed me and Richard I was stifling his creativity. We couldn’t  have that.

 

Before:

100_1672

 

After:

p1010004

We went to check out after the paint was mixed and Michael had squirreled away a pretty large pile of items we “had to have” to be good and responsible home owners. The sander was one of them. I went to the hardware store thinking we would spend about $30.00 bucks and walked out over $100 bucks lighter….but my husband was happy as a clam and grinning like the chestier cat.

Stay tuned for chapter 2

2 thoughts on “What I did on my Stay-cation…Chapter 1

Leave a Reply

